The Wolf Intelligencer

"When we try to pick out anything by itself, we find it hitched to everything else in the Universe." John Muir

Gray Wolf (Canis lupus) Old World

Grey Wolf  (Canis lupus)

The categories listed here based on taxonomy are listed so for the sake of geography and the interest of the regions that wolves inhabit. Taxonomy is just nomenclature, which is a human construct and should only be taken and appreciated as spatiotemporal description.


Eurasion Wolf (Canis lupus lupus) – NOMINATE SUBSPECIES (Linnaeus 1758)
-syn, Italian Wolf (Canis lupus italicus)(Altobello, 1921)
-syn, Iberian Wolf (Canis lupus signatus) – (Cabrera 1907)
-syn,Tundra Wolf (Canis lupus albus) – (Kerr 1792)
-syn, Steppe Wolf (Canis lupus campestris) – (Dwigubski 1804)

Indian / Persian Wolf (Canis lupus pallipes) – (Sykes 1831)
-syn. Indian Wolf (Canis indica)
-syn, Arabian Wolf (Canis lupus arabs) – (Pocock 1934)

Himalayan Wolf  (Canis himalayensis)(Brian Houghton Hodgson)
-syn. Tibetan Wolf (Canis lupus filchneri) – (Gray 1863)

Mongolian Wolf (Canis lupus chanco)

Domestic Dog (Canis lupus familiaris)– (Linnaeus 1758)
Dingo ( Canis dingo, Canis lupus dingo) – (Meyer 1793)

Hokkaido Wolf (Canis lupus hattai) – (Kishida 1931)
Japanese Wolf (Canis lupus hodophilax) – (Temminck 1839)

%d bloggers like this: