The Wolf Intelligencer


Great Lakes Region – United States

Michigan / Minnesota / Wisconsin / Illinois / Indiana / Nebraska / North Dakota / South Dakota / Iowa

Isle Royale

Background Image By Voyageurs Wolf Project

There is an established Gray Wolf population existing in the Western Great Lakes states of Michigan, Minnesota and Wisconsin. There have been sightings and purposeful / accidental killings of dispersing wolves in the states of Illinois, Indiana, Nebraska, North and South Dakota and Iowa.

Journal Articles

[HTML] Demographic and component Allee effects in southern Lake Superior gray wolves; JL Stenglein, TR Van Deelen – PloS one, 2016

Fear and loathing in a Great Lakes forest: cascading effects of competition between wolves and coyotes. Flagel DG, Belovsky GE, Cramer MJ, Beyer Jr DE, Robertson KE. Journal of Mammalogy. 2016 Oct

Natural and experimental tests of trophic cascades: gray wolves and white-tailed deer in a Great Lakes forest. Flagel DG, Belovsky GE, Beyer DE. Oecologia. 2016 Apr

Coyote colonization of northern Virginia and admixture with Great Lakes wolves. Bozarth CA, Hailer F, Rockwood LL, Edwards CW, Maldonado JE. Journal of Mammalogy. 2011 Oct

Dispersal of gray wolves in the Great Lakes region. Treves A, Martin KA, Wiedenhoeft JE, Wydeven AP. Recovery of gray wolves in the Great Lakes region of the United States. 2009

Prey of wolves in the Great Lakes region. DelGiudice GD, McCaffery KR, Beyer DE, Nelson ME. Recovery of gray wolves in the Great Lakes region of the United States. 2009

Origin and status of the Great Lakes wolf. Koblmüller S, Nord M, Wayne RK, Leonard JA. Molecular ecology. 2009 Jun

Human dimensions: public opinion research concerning wolves in the Great Lakes States of Michigan, Minnesota, and Wisconsin. InRecovery of gray wolves in the Great Lakes Region of the United States .Schanning K. 2009

Taxonomy, morphology, and genetics of wolves in the Great Lakes region
RM Nowak – … of Gray Wolves in the Great Lakes Region of the …, 2009

Genetic analysis of historic western Great Lakes region wolf samples reveals early Canis lupus/lycaon hybridization. Wheeldon T, White BN. Biology Letters. 2008 Oct

Native Great Lakes wolves were not restored. Leonard JA, Wayne RK. Biology Letters. 2007 Oct

Road density as a factor in habitat selection by wolves and other carnivores in the Great Lakes Region. Kohn BE, Thiel R, Hansen JL. Carnivore Conservation in the Twenty-first Century. 2001

A Regional Landscape Analysis and Prediction of Favorable Gray Wolf Habitat in the Northern Great Lakes Region; David J. Mladenoff1,*, Theodore A. Sickley1, Robert G. Haight2 and Adrian P. Wydeven3; Conservation Biology, 1995 Apr

Rabies in wolves of the Great Lakes Region. Theberge JB, Forbes GJ, Barker IK, Bollinger T. Journal of Wildlife Diseases. 1994 Oct



%d bloggers like this: